thing 11 Content Area

Standard

http://www.youtube.com/education and Teaching Channel are two video resources I use in my classroom.  I liked the looks of Schooltube.com and will look at it more as a resource.  I appreciated that all videos at this site  are looked at with moderation.  This feature makes me more comfortable with using it without worry of each video requiring a preview by myself.

ITunes was not as user friendly as I had wished for.  I used SoundCloud and created an account that I will use to assess the third grade Speaking and Listening Common Core requirement.  Students will record research reports of the history of Michigan.  Our class will create a “human time line” with each student reporting through the podcast decade(s) of research to help compile the timeline.  I have shared SoundCloud with two colleagues for this purpose.  Using my phone, students will record.  Recordings will be sent via e-mail to SoundCloud for safe keeping and also to share through other foremats.

M.O.R.E Michigan Learns Online certainly qualifies for bringing Anytime Anywhere Learning to teachers and students.   I found several worthy videos to use this in my lesson plans for teaching economics on WatchKnowLearn.Org.  Scrooge McDuck and Money is a cute cartoon with substance.  Vocabulary for both Social Studies and Math, including how much is a billion, and the concept and terminology to teach about inflation was covered.  I also found The Fastest Broom a cute and relevant video for teaching about Simple Machines and it was filed under math, so I will cover measurement and a little bit of physics on the same lesson.  National Geographic.com is a good site for any age group of learners.